Click here for latest updates about Coronavirus and your holiday

Reviews

We use Feefo to allow our guests to give us honest feedback about their holiday with us.

So don't take our word for it, see what over 5000 of our customers are saying about us! 

Your recent holiday on Bunting - Black Headed Bunting from Whitchurch Marina

We had a super holiday. We were first time narrow boaters but Paul’s welcome and briefing were excellent so we felt confident we knew what we were doing. The boat was lovely - really clean and well-equipped. We were pleased we had a smaller boat for our first time out on the canal. The route from Whitchurch to Llangollen was excellent - lots of variety in terms of locks, tunnels, bridges and the amazing aquaduct.

03 Aug 2021

Your recent holiday on Owl - Barn Owl from Wrenbury

A brilliant family holiday. We all loved sharing the experience of driving the barge and handling the locks. The Llangollen trip was so tranquil and pretty .

31 Jul 2021

Your recent holiday on Kestrel - Lesser Kestrel from Gailey Wharf

Staff just so friendly and helpful boat was in good shape and ready to go and on returning they were as fast as possible to help us be on are way would be five stars if canal trust would put a few water points in thanks

31 Jul 2021

Your recent holiday on Warbler - Greenish Warbler from Blackwater Meadow Marina

A fantastic family experience in every way

30 Jul 2021

Your recent holiday on Eagle - Spotted Eagle from Whitchurch Marina

Great holiday - need to develop confidence in handling the narrow boat to enjoy. Can always have a day ghee to hone skills

30 Jul 2021

Your recent holiday on Kestrel - Lesser Kestrel from Gailey Wharf

Very relaxing 3 night break on the canal, wish we could've stayed on it for longer. You are expected to cruise for at least 5-6hours a day to charge the batteries. We didn't get to where they said we could as we didn't want to spend 8 hours cruising a day. I would say that you need to have a fair bit of common sense and a slightly practical mind to do canal boating and to be able to think ahead. We will probably be back.

30 Jul 2021

Your recent holiday on Grebe - Red Necked Grebe from Hilperton

2nd year on the Red Necked Grebe, easy change over and relaxing.

30 Jul 2021

Your recent holiday on Finch - Red Billed Finch from Goytre Wharf

Perfect holiday on a boat that was ready shortly after we arrived, with all the equipment we needed.

30 Jul 2021

Your recent holiday on Swift - Alpine Swift from Blackwater Meadow Marina

Really enjoyed our first narrowboat experience! Lovely boat well equipped with comfortable beds and generous bathroom. The countryside was beautiful and it was such a relaxing experience given the slow pace of travel and the opportunity to be outside working the boat and walking the canal side. Lots of lovely pubs and places to visit along the way.

30 Jul 2021

Your recent holiday on Heron - Purple Heron from Wrenbury

We had a super holiday. Boat comfortable (as far as poss!), well equipped, helpful staff.

29 Jul 2021

Your recent holiday on Plover - Wilson's Plover from Whitchurch Marina

Lovely boat. Relaxed cruising. Some fantastic weather and scenery. A week of totally chilling out.

29 Jul 2021

Your recent holiday on Gull - Common Gull from Gailey Wharf

The boat was clean and well laid out. The only complaint if there was one regarding the boat and that was to have a bench across the back near the tiller. Other boats I have hired have had this and is why I chose the cruiser stern layout

29 Jul 2021

Your recent holiday on Eagle - Booted Eagle from Anderton

Loved every minute. As it was our first time on a canal boat there were some nerves around how we would handle it but these were soon dispersed after the induction from one of your team members. Everyone at ABC were very helpful and we are looking forward to doing it all again next year

28 Jul 2021

Your recent holiday on Goose - Bar Headed Goose from Wrenbury

Value for money and very friendly staff

28 Jul 2021

Your recent holiday on Wren - Bay Wren from Falkirk

Overall I really enjoyed our 7 days on a canal boat starting from Falkirk but here are a few areas that weren’t so good: At handover we weren’t told that there was a flap under the double bed that would make it a less squashed. We worked this out after one night but it would have been useful to know. -I didn’t like that ALL our water from the boat (shower water, sink water, washing up) goes straight into the canals. Only grey water goes into a tank. At the very least it would have been good to be warned so we could bring biodegradable shampoos, soap etc to try to limit the damage to the waterways. Also the washing up liquid and spray provided on the canal boat should also be biodegradable. - No mention was made in advance that locks on the Forth & Clyde need to be booked 48hrs in advance, this was quite a shock so should be made very clear. In reality it wasn’t too much of a hassle but at one point we wanted to cancel the booking for kick opening, as we decided to stay put, for an extra day but my text message and voicemails using the number on the map to cancel apparently didn’t make it through so we annoyed the volunteers. -one of the water points marked on the map of the Union Canal was private and we were shooed away by a woman when we tried to fill up there..

28 Jul 2021