Reviews

We use Feefo to allow our guests to give us honest feedback about their holiday with us.

So don't take our word for it, see what over 2000 of our customers are saying about us! 

Your recent holiday on Owl - Eagle Owl from Alvechurch

We had a great time and had fun. Initially we were going to to do a shorter route but decided to complete the Birmingham ring. I think we bit off a little too much for a 4 night holiday and given the fact we had to get the boat back by 0930 on the fifth day. The country side was beautiful but as we got to the locks leading into the city centre and started to work our way up, there were a fair few Ne'er-do-wells floating about which made it feel a little edgy. That said we reached Gas St as dark descended and order was restored. I would definitely recommend and use ABC again to explore different routes.

07 Nov 2019

Your recent holiday on Lark - Ashes Lark from Worcester

Very friendly upon arrival boat very clean easy to find location 1 problem accured but was felt with very quickly.

07 Nov 2019

Your recent holiday on Owl - Long Eared Owl from Gayton

The marina and all staff were brilliant. We were caught in a traffic jam following an accident on the M1 meaning we wouldn't arrive until gone 5.30 but staff stayed back to let us onto the boat, show us how things worked and to arrange a handover the following morning instead. This was really good as we'd been panicking that we'd not be able to get on the boat that night if we were too late. The boat was great. The bedding and towels were of very good quality but a few things in the kitchen could do with updating. For example, the fridge had a broken door compartment so you couldn't get anything bigger than a single pint of milk to stay in it when you opened the door (and it wasn't a big fridge so this space was needed), the bowels were so small you couldn't even get a kids portion of cereal in them and there was no slotted spoon, just a ladle. They are not huge things, but if these were improved the boat would have definitely been given 5 stars. The two routes we picked were really nice (Crick & return, then Fenny Stratford & return). The Crick route was our favourite as we did a staircase lock and the scenery was nicer as it was all out in the countryside, but it was also good to do the Fenny Stratford route going through bigger towns as it gave a good contrast on what you'll find along the canals. And obviously both routes had some great pubs along the way, our favourites being The Wharf at Bugbrooke and The Navigation Inn near Cosgrove. All in all it was a great week away and something we'll definitely do again!

07 Nov 2019

Carolyn

Thank you for your feedback, which we will forward to our team at Gayton. We are thrilled you enjoyed your holiday and your chosen routes, especially the pubs! We look forward to welcoming you and your crew again in the future.

08 Nov 2019

Your recent holiday on Bunting - Black Headed Bunting from Whitchurch Marina

1sr time on a canal boat and really enjoying the experience. We were given good training before setting off which meant for a smooth operation of the boat and locks.

07 Nov 2019

Your recent holiday on Warbler - Grasshopper Warbler from Gayton

Boat was clean & bedding lovely. Staff helpful quickly changing bed set up which was different to what we had requested. Full explanation of everything before we set off

06 Nov 2019

Your recent holiday on Wagtail - Yellow Wagtail from Rugby Wharf

The whole experience with ABC boats was great. They rang me a week or so before our hire to check the layout of beds, number of pillows, etc and when we arrived everything was in order. The boat was immaculate, the training provided very thorough, and when, on the last day, we ran into a spot of bother, they were able to help and got us going again very swiftly. Very professional and highly recommended.

06 Nov 2019

Your recent holiday on Tyne - Sigrid from Worcester

Through no ones fault, we were not able to travel the Droitwich ring due to flooding on the river. This doubled the locks to pass through . This meant that unfortunately we were not able to do our planned journey we had looked forward to doing...as mentioned no ones fault. The boat was good, the staff were very helpful and friendly, the hand over instruction was excellent. Very nice scenery on the rural parts of the canal. If we had been able to complete the river aspects of the trip I’m sure we’d have given the overall holiday a 5.

05 Nov 2019

Carolyn

Thank you for your feedback. With any route which includes a section of river there will always be a chance that with continuous rainfall this section has to close. We do advise guests to have a second route option, going from any of our Marina's, as there can sometimes be situations or stoppages which are out of our control. We are pleased you enjoyed your holiday and we hope to welcome you back again soon!

08 Nov 2019

Your recent holiday on Owl - Snowy Owl from Hilperton

The boat was clean and well equipped, but forward toilet wasn't working properly so made the boat smell of sewage. The water tank was empty, this caused the pumps to start running at 02:00 on the first night, but we were not sure of the problem at the time!

05 Nov 2019

Carolyn

Thank you for your feedback. Our Customer Services team have contacted you directly.

15 Nov 2019

Your recent holiday on Wren - Cobbs Wren from Wrenbury

Last minute booking handled with efficiency.

05 Nov 2019

Your recent holiday on Sandpiper - Purple Sandpiper from Gayton

Everything exceeded expectation; the boat, the handover and the experience.

05 Nov 2019

Your recent holiday on Nene - Bragi from Gailey Wharf

Not having done any barge holidays for years we didn't know what to expect. This team were very friendly, settled us aboard efficiently and showed us the basics. Small, cosy marina in a lovely setting. Boat was very clean, modern and comfortable and we were proud to be able to call it home for a few days. Looking forward to coming back.

05 Nov 2019

Carolyn

Thank you for your review. We are really pleased to hear that your boat felt like a home from home and that the team at Gailey looked after you well. We look forward to welcoming back again in the future!

08 Nov 2019

Your recent holiday on Wren - Marsh Wren from Hilperton

The boat was comfortable, clean, quite easy to manoeuvre and the kitchen reasonably well equipped. Shower was good. Not come across a toilet with this type of suction system before- it is very noisy, especially in the lounge area. Mooring along the Kennet and Avon is not easy. We had hoped to travel between Bath and Bristol but the Avon was not passable early enough in the week.

04 Nov 2019

Your recent holiday on Gull - Audouins Gull from Gayton

Great family holiday. Excellently appointed Andy equipped boat. Friendly and helpful staff.

04 Nov 2019

Your recent holiday on Finch - Red Headed Finch from Goytre Wharf

Great staff, great boat and loved our week

04 Nov 2019

Your recent holiday on Owl - Scops Owl from Blackwater Meadow Marina

The whole process was extremely smooth from booking through to the boat handover and return. Staff were excellent and we all enjoyed it very much.

04 Nov 2019