Click here for latest updates about Coronavirus and your holiday.

Reviews

We use Feefo to allow our guests to give us honest feedback about their holiday with us.

So don't take our word for it, see what over 5000 of our customers are saying about us! 

Your recent holiday on Wide Beam - Sanderling from Falkirk

Det var vad jag hade förväntat mig. Dock saknade information om att båten (widebeam) gick sakta och förbrukar mycket diesel

21 Oct 2018

Keri McLaren

Thank you for your feedback. The maximum speed allowed on the canals is 4 miles per hour, so that is the maximum speed our boats go. It does also state in our brochure that the fuel consumption on this boat will be more than the suggested fuel deposits due to its size. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

23 Oct 2018

Your recent holiday on Warbler - Yellow Warbler from Hilperton

Excellent service, marina & boat. Very organised & hot on the safety training even though we had done this before

21 Oct 2018

Keri McLaren

Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed such excellent service from our team at Hilperton. Including a very organised and efficient handover. It also sounds like you enjoyed your time on board the Yellow Warbler. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

23 Oct 2018

Your recent holiday on Finch - Red Tailed Finch from Goytre Wharf

We arrived early (lunch time) in order to be first away at 2.30pm, but we still did not get away until after 3pm.

20 Oct 2018

Keri McLaren

Thank you for your feedback. It is unfortunate to hear that you did not set off at your expected time. But sometimes there can be delays during busier periods. We hope you still managed to enjoy your holiday and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

23 Oct 2018

Your recent holiday on Tyne - Gefion from Whitchurch Marina

every thing was as we had hoped for , from arriving at the boatyard to the hand over of the boat to the boat itself

20 Oct 2018

Keri McLaren

Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted to hear that you had such a great holiday. And that our team at Whitchurch were able to provide you with a great service. We hope to see you again soon.

23 Oct 2018

Your recent holiday on Thrush - Siberian Thrush from Whitchurch Marina

Normally we would have given you 5 stars but we had a few problems this time which took the edge off the holiday. However, the base at Whitchurch did try to resolve the problems as best they could. The weather was pretty good for October too. In all, a reasonable holiday

20 Oct 2018

Keri McLaren

Thank you for your feedback. It is disappointing to hear you encountered a few problems, but we are glad to hear our team at Whitchurch did their best to resolve these for you. It is good to hear you enjoyed good weather and hope this added to the enjoyment of your holiday. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

23 Oct 2018

Your recent holiday on Owl - Long Eared Owl from Gayton

Totally 1st class experience.

20 Oct 2018

Keri McLaren

Thank you fore your feedback. We are delighted to hear that you received a first class experience through out your holiday with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

23 Oct 2018

Your recent holiday on Weaver - Streaked Weaver from Blackwater Meadow Marina

Our first ever barge holiday. The boat was very well equipped with kitchen appliances, crockery, utensils etc. Although compact there was enough room for the 2 of us. Bedding was clean and cosy. The boat company explained and showed us "the ropes" and accompanied us for a while till we were proficient to be left to it. Would certainly recommend.

20 Oct 2018

Keri McLaren

Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your first ever canal boat holiday. It certainly sounds like you enjoyed your time on board Streaked Weaver. And we are glad that you were impressed with everything on board. We are happy to hear that our team at Blackwater Meadow provided you with such an excellent service, including accompanying you on board until you were comfortable. We look forward to welcoming you aboard again soon.

23 Oct 2018

Your recent holiday on Eagle - Crowned Eagle from Aldermaston Wharf

Had a fantastic time - great weather and nice staff

20 Oct 2018

Keri McLaren

Thank you for your feedback. It is great to hear that you received good service from our team at Aldermastion. We are pleased that you had such a fantastic time and that this was helped by great weather too. We hope to see you again soon.

23 Oct 2018

Your recent holiday on Derwent - Niord from Gailey Wharf

The boat was old but fine for us, everything worked. Only half of the partition door between the rear and middle cabins closed. I was anticipating being kept awake by loud snoring but that didn’t happen!

20 Oct 2018

Keri McLaren

Thank you for your feedback. It is unfortunate to hear that you had an issue with the partition door, but it sounds like your crew didn't make too much noise to wake you up! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your time on board the Derwent Niord. We hope to see you again soon.

23 Oct 2018

Your recent holiday on Swan - Coscoroba Swan from Alvechurch

All very easy to book, pay, turn up and go.

20 Oct 2018

Keri McLaren

Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted to hear that you found the booking process so easy. And you were then able to turn up for your holiday at Alvechurch with no problem and enjoy your holiday on board Coscoroba Swan. We hope to see you again soon.

23 Oct 2018

Your recent holiday on Owl - Long Eared Owl from Gayton

Freindly professional and helpful staff. Well equiped boat.

20 Oct 2018

Keri McLaren

Thank you for your feedback. It is great to hear that you found our team at Gayton friendly, professional and helpful. And that you found the Long Eared Owl well equipped. It sounds like you managed to have a great holiday. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

23 Oct 2018

Your recent holiday on Grebe - Great Crested Grebe from Whitchurch Marina

Grebe contained all we needed in terms of comfort and practical use. We cooked a roast. I was pleasantly surprised to a) have heaters and b) have them be so effective so long as turned off overnight so didn’t drain battery. The wet weather gear and umbrella was appreciated cos it does get damp and cold at the tiller when weather is ****. Bed was comfy. TV and wifi all good. Do it again in a heartbeat if I lived in UK!

19 Oct 2018

Keri McLaren

Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time on the Great Crested Grebe and that you found it to contain everything you needed. And we are very impressed that you managed to cook a roast! All of our boats come with central heating and we do advise customer to not use it unnecessarily in case of draining the battery. We are glad that you found the waterproofs and umbrella so useful, although we hope customers have great weather so don't need to use them! We are glad you found our features on board so useful and up to standard. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

23 Oct 2018

Your recent holiday on Wren - Marbled Wren from Anderton

The boat was excellent. I think our small disappointments arose because it was not an ABC boat, (it was at Anderton because of closure of its main base), so there may have been a slight lack of interest in it by ABC staff. The briefing could have been more complete, re TV, radio, internet etc. and specifically regarding the central heating which flattened the batteries resulting in not starting next day.

19 Oct 2018

Keri McLaren

Thank you for your feedback. This boat is an ABC boat but has been moved to Anderton from Reedley due to issues on the Leeds and Liverpool canal. Heating usage will have an impact on your fuel consumption, so we do advise not to leave it on unnecessarily. The WiFi on board requires a network signal, so in areas where there is little or no signal this can affect your use of the WiFi. We also encourage our customers when we send emails regarding their holiday to read our holiday guide. This is to make them aware of things such as the central heating, Wifi and electrical items on board that use the battery. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your time on board Marbled Wren and look forward to seeing you again soon.

23 Oct 2018

Your recent holiday on Swan - Trumpeter Swan from Aldermaston Wharf

Amazing few days doing something super fun.

19 Oct 2018

Keri McLaren

Thank you for your feedback. We are glad to hear that you had an amazing few day on board the Trumpeter Swan and that you found the experience so much fun. We hope to see you again soon.

19 Oct 2018

Your recent holiday on Thrush - Veery Thrush from Aldermaston Wharf

We've hired from ABC before but felt that the boat was a bit under par this time. There were a few issues: No key provided for opening water tank - we bought and used pliers to do this. Water hose brass fitment was damaged and could not be tightened onto a tap and soaked the person trying to hold it on. We were saved by other boaters lending us their hose. I bought a new fitment myself in Hungerford on day 2 of the trip to solve the problem (cost £12) Fridge was faulty and froze everything in it even when turned right down. Problems with brass fitments to secure the doors at both ends of the boat. The aft washroom was smelly, not from the loo but from what seemed to be stale urine in the floor. Central heating (on some very cold nights) was pretty ineffective. It's usually much better on these boats. However, we did have a great holiday

19 Oct 2018

Carolyn

Thank you for your feedback. It is very disappointing to hear that you had these issues during your holiday. A member of our customer services team will be contacting you directly.

16 Nov 2018