So don't take our word for it, see what thousands of our customers are saying about us!
Good base for run to Ellesmere Port, Chester zoo, Chester and some ice cream parlours
04 Jun 2019
Thank you for your feedback, we're really pleased you enjoyed the route to Ellesmere Port and visited all of the attractions along the way! We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
06 Jun 2019
The holiday itself was very good, the scenery and weather excellent. However as this was our first experience at a 'boating' holiday we were a little disappointed with the vessel. We chose Ragnar from your brochure because firstly it gave us the layout we were looking for as regards accommodation, and secondly because being our first boating venture we didn't want something that might have been too difficult to handle. I think it would have been better if we could have seen pictures of the interior/furniture/facilities etc. because we may well have chosen a different vessel - working from a layout plan is not always ideal. Our disappointment was due to the following: The boat looked somewhat old and tired. The hairdryer could not be used because it kept tripping fuses. The heating system constantly kept banging with 'water hammer' to the point where my son and his partner never had a good nights sleep. The toilets always smelt and we had to use a lot of air fresheners. Picking up the boat was reasonably leisurely - but it seemed rushed when handing it back - arrive at 09.00 and get all our belongings off the boat by 09.30?? It seemed so rushed we decided to bring the boat back Friday evening rather than Saturday morning as booked. When we arrived back we had the opportunity to look inside some of the other boats and their interior and layout were much better than the one we hired.
04 Jun 2019
Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. We appreciate it can be difficult choosing a boat from our fleet and this is why we offer a 360° your of the boat as well as layout diagrams on our website. Some of our boats are older than others and perhaps slightly more basic but this is generally reflected in the price. I have forwarded your comments on to Whitchurch Marina so that they can replace the hairdryer on board and check the toilets. Our return times are necessary to enable us to fully prepare each boat ready for the next hire later that day. We hope you will be back for a second holiday with us; please feel free to call the booking Office for advice on which boat to choose.
02 Jul 2019
Boat was very clean, well equipped with dishes, pots, utensils and EVERYTHING we needed for our trip. They were a phone call away for a question and most helpful as this was our first trip on a narrow boat.
04 Jun 2019
Thank you for your feedback, it's great to hear that our team at Aldermaston looked after you so well on your first ever narrow boat holiday! We hope you will be back for a second holiday with ABC again soon!
06 Jun 2019
Good holiday all round...
03 Jun 2019
From the handover to the return the boat was lovely. We have hired from various companies over 30 odd years and this was easily the best handling boat we've had. Also the level of equipment was superb, we couldn't have wanted for more. I suppose I could wish for larger wine glasses but I just had to fill the ones supplied more often :-)
03 Jun 2019
had a great time but hadn't realised we'd have to get the boat back so early on the Monday.
03 Jun 2019
Thank you for your feedback. Our arrival and return times are stated on our website and in both the deposit and final balance confirmations emailed to you once you have made a booking. It is necessary for the boat to be returned by 9am on the Monday morning to allow enough time for it to be prepared ready for the next guests arriving later that day. We're pleased you had a great time and hope to see you again soon!
03 Jun 2019
no hassle, easy to book, boat was so clean and everything supplied. Thorough hand over. Canal scenery was stunning . Have been before and will go again .
03 Jun 2019
Every aspect of the experience was first class. I rented a boat on the Caledonian the week before this. It was dirty, smelly and old. It was a massive disappointment. Both Lochan Ora and Green Sandpiper were spotlessly clean, updated and in perfect working order. The crew that briefed us and assisted us thru the Falkirk wheel were the finest I have ever rented a narrowboat from and I have been sailing the canals of UK for thirty years.
03 Jun 2019
Wow, what amazing feedback, thank you! We are really pleased that you were impressed with both of your boats and the service you received from the staff at Falkirk. We hope you will be back for another holiday with us again soon!
10 Jun 2019
Mostly good experience but did find boat more basic than previous 2 boats we have hired. Mattresses very thin so beds very uncomfortable was main concern.
03 Jun 2019
Thank you for your feedback, which we will forward to the Marina. We're pleased you enjoyed the experience overall and hope to see you again soon!
03 Jun 2019
Very friendly lovely views 2 miles an hour max but why rush plenty of moorings, well equipped boat, small single bunks not suitable for bigger people ie 18st
03 Jun 2019
Thank you for your feedback, we're pleased you enjoyed the beautiful Monmouthsire & Brecon Canal and the slower pace of life! We do offer wider beds on some of our other boat classes so if you are planning another holiday in the future we will be happy to advise you.
03 Jun 2019
Boat was like new. Clean and fully equipped. The video and engineering instructions were complete and were of great value on the trip. Even though this was our 6th cruise we still learned from their instructor. Once on the trip the office was always available to answer questions. We will definitely rent from them again.
03 Jun 2019
Fantastic experience and the staff at the marina were all very friendly and helpful.
03 Jun 2019
Had a brilliant time the only problem we had was where we could get the water to fill out tanks,Better signage would help
03 Jun 2019
Thank you for your feedback. We do recommend customers purchase a map to help with their holiday planning before and during their holiday. Although signage for water points might not always be clear along the canal it will be indicated on the map. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future!
03 Jun 2019
Professional, friendly staff, boat all beautifully clean and well prepared. Everyone was very helpful, all done in quick time.
03 Jun 2019
Boat performed well, Water authority dropped the water level on way back and we "bottomed out" mid-canal on numerous occasions as well as getting stuck in the mud along side of canal to allow others to pass by. Location of "safe" was not found where we were told. Cushions for forward bed do not make for a good base to sleep.
03 Jun 2019
Thank you for your feedback, for the last few weeks the canal water levels have been particularly low in this area. We are not sure if there was a short term issue or whether the flow was reduced because of low rainfall; we have not received any notifications to confirm either way. The marina manager has confirmed that levels now seem to be back to normal. We hope you enjoyed your holiday overall and we look forward to welcoming you in again in the future.
10 Jun 2019